Are You Ready for Surveyors to Dive Into the Initial Pool?

By Caralyn Davis, Staff Writer - January 10, 2018

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has organized the new standard long-term care survey process (LTCSP) into seven parts, according to the LTCSP Procedure Guide:

1)      Offsite preparation;

2)      Facility entrance;

3)      Initial pool process;

4)      Sample selection;

5)      Investigation;

6)      Ongoing and other survey activities; and

7)      Potential citations.

Many directors of nursing services (DNSs) have paid a lot of attention to the investigation stage of the survey where surveyors investigate specific identified concerns in care areas ranging from dialysis to hydration. However, the initial pool process, which takes up most of the survey team’s first eight to 10 hours onsite, also has a critical role in the survey process.