2019 Director of Nursing of the Year

Jennifer Daley, RN  Jennifer is the DNS for Issaquah Nursing and Rehabilitation in Issaquah, Washington. In her nomination, Lori Martin, wrote: “Jenn is the type of leader who totally immerses herself in her job, to the benefit of all those around her. She is first and foremost a resident advocate. From early morning to late in the evening, she is working to enhance quality of life for residents. We developed a rapport because she wanted to learn what a MDS nurse really does. Jenn is the backbone of the interdisciplinary process, and supports the MDS staff receiving the assistance of her skilled staff.”

2019 President's Professional Development Grant

Amy Melna, RN, DNS-CT, RAC- CT  Amy is the director of nursing for Mayo Healthcare in Northfield, Vermont. In her application, Amy wrote: “Currently working for a small, non-profit facility in rural Vermont, I am limited in what I can ask for in regard to education for myself without impacting the other educational needs of the facility and the nursing staff. This grant would help me be able to get the information I need to succeed in my role and be a role model for the other nursing staff, while also opening up funds for the direct care nursing staff to be able to participate in opportunities for their growth.

Amy selected to earn a QCP certification. In doing so, she hopes to “better understand the QAPI aspect at my facility. I do feel this education would help me better focus my training on the needs of the residents.” 

2019 Outstanding Contributors of the Year

This award recognizes an individual/s who over the years has worked alongside AANAC and AADNS to make significant contributions to the success of the organizations, members, and the nursing profession.

Barbara Bates, MSN, RN, RAC- CT, DNS-MT, QCP-MT  Barb is known for her passion and expertise in person-centered care planning. As a former DNS- EAP chair, and a current DNS-CT and QCP Master Teacher, Barb imparts amazing knowledge and  experience to members. Because of Barb's humor, laughter and expertise, it is a pleasure to work with Barb on any project we endeavor to create. 



Linda Winston, MSN, RN, BS, QCP-MT, DNS- CT, RAC-CT  Linda serves as the chair of the DNS-EAP, reviews educational content, and teaches both DNS- CT and QCP workshop.  As an excellent writer, speaker, and education provider, Linda does an amazing job of supporting up-and-coming nurses in the field of LTC. 

Previous Award Recipients

Director of Nursing of the Year

Sharon Riddle, RN
Kari Gawrych, RN, RAC-CT
Rhonda Hanan, MS, RN, DNS-CT, CDONA, GRN
Wendy Jobe, RN, MSH
Andrea Morgan 
Patricia Long, RN, BSW, RAC-CT 
Nancy Chila, RN 
Susan McDonald, RN, BSN, RAC-CT 
Amy Higgins, RN, RAC-CT 

Nursing Home Administrator of the Year

David Simha
Richard Cornwell
Carol Gilbertson, RN, RAC-CT 
Richard Cartney 
Bill Pierce 
Jalane White 
Sara Dent 
Jane Hull 
Mivic Hirose 
Tina Strimbu 
Gene Williams 
Ronald Graybeal 
Nancy White 
Shellie Ducommon, RN, NHA 


President's Professional Development Grant

Kimberly Kaisner, RN, BSN, DNS-CT, RAC-CT



Note: The awards and scholarships above were previously awarded by our sister organization, the American Association of Nurse Assessment Coordination.